Many parents believed that when their children read books for entertainment, they are wasting their time, and that they should read only serious, educational books. What is your opinion about this?

Reading books for entertainment is considered by most of the parents that is a waste of children's time and they only allowed to read serious, educational books such as textbooks and exercise books. However, from my point of view, I completely disagree with this perspective as it contains a huge amount of benefits for children. First and foremost, I believed that reading books for entertainment namely novel and comic book are able for children to learn different language and improve their communication skills. Nowadays, most of the story books are written in two different languages such as English and mandarin. Owing to this, children tend to have the greater ability to advance their language skills which allow them to have the capable to communicate and interact with other people from different culture more easily compare to ordinary children. Moreover, in my opinion, able to help children develop positive personality is another significant merits that arise from reading books for entertainment. Admittedly, story book and comic book often contain an enormous amount of moral values for children to implement and learn. Due to this phenomenon, while children spend their time on reading these kinds of books, it may lead them to develop positive emotions and become optimist. Furthermore, another important advantages that result from this is that able to help children release stress that coming from their study. For instance, while reading novel at their leisure time, it tend to reduce their burden from their study and prevent them to suffer in a stressful circumstances in order to ensure them living in a more relax situation. In conclusion, reading books for entertainment contains more merits for children compare to the drawbacks that associated with this. Parents are essential to encourage their children to read these kinds of books.