Nowadays the rate of drug abuse among the youth is on the increase. What are the reasons for this and how can we solve this problem?

In recent years, the number of addicted youngsters has raised constantly. This essay will expose some motives for this and try to give some possible solutions. Arguably, one of the causes could be the need of adolescents to fit in a specific social circle, that includes drug users. The fear that they would not be accepted leads to occasionally consumption and, later, to addiction. The second reason is that youngsters are often motivated to look for new experiences, particularly those they perceive as thrilling or daring. Another motive is that today’s society is a very competitive one, and the pressure to perform athletically or academically can be intense. Various young adults may turn to certain drugs like illegal or prescription stimulants because they think those substances will enhance or improve their performance. The Guardian published an article claiming that the use of illicit substances to boost mental performance is rife in British universities. Turning to solutions, a possible one may be that teenagers be informed about the risks of drug abuse. Drug prevention can usually be made in health classes. Also, the parents should closely monitor their alcohol, inhalants, prescriptions, and other medication. By doing so it has been found to decrease substance abuse by a teen. Another solving could be creating a community substance abuse program that can change the lives of residents. Drugs are usually everywhere, no matter if is a rich, middle class or poor community. For instance, The National Institute on Drug Abuse has researched and found that programs to help prevent substance usage that involves families, schools, media and communities are the ones who reduce drug abuse most of time. To sum up, if more information and rehabilitation programs were available worldwide, the teens would be aware about how dangerous drug use may be.