Nowadays, the internet and television have given ordinary people a chance to become famous. Is this a positive or negative development?

There is no iota of doubt that, television and especially the internet have made it possible for an everyday people to become a celebrity much more easily in the past. This phenomenon is offering multifarious benefits to people lead to a regular, innocent person having their life memorable. However, sometimes a couple of problems emerge due to the same. The following paragraphs would cast light on the pros and cons of this development. To begin with the bright side, the ability to become popular through digital media obviously leads to the opportunity to become rich and famous. Therefore, in the past, this was controlled by film studio executives and record labels, but now a typical person can become a star simply by word of mouth. For instance, many popular YouTube stars became famous (and wealthy) simply by their fans sharing their content and then things snowballed from there. On the flip side of the coil, there are a handful of nasty consequences as well, the dark side of this ease of access to fame is that it can lead to infamy for a person who maybe did not do much to justify it. For example, a new star emerging from the internet or a TV talent show, there are myriad more instances of Everyday Joes who have been harassed and had their lives ruined because of public scrutiny. Furthermore, aforementioned can arise when someone is completely innocent, such as in the case of online bullying, or even when someone seeks out attention but is ruthlessly mocked for trying to do something creative. To conclude, an increase in the ability for people to express themselves and their creativity is an enticing thing in general. Nonetheless, in reality the opportunity to become popular is also the opportunity to become popular for the wrong reasons.