Individuals can do nothing to improve the environment; only governments and large companies can make a difference. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

I do not agree with the statement that individuals cannot do anything to improve the environment. Taking care of the environment cannot be the sole responsibility of any government or large companies. This is a responsibility of all. Government and large companies consist of people who live in a particular country and they are also responsible individually to take care. The government can enact legislations and enforce them to make sure that all citizens of a country abide by them. Large companies can influence their staff when they undertake measures to take care of the environment and in the process influence their consumers through advertising and promotion. I live in Bangladesh, a country situated in South Asia. My country has the longest beach and over time with increased tourists and the associated hotels and businesses around that place it has become rather dirty. Once of the largest conglomerates undertook an initiative as part of their CSR efforts to keep the beach clean. They engaged local students and youth in collecting debris and other things that were making the place dirty. The company also worked with the local government to put in bins at various locations at the beach and coming up rules and regulations to help keep the beach clean. The local government ensured that anyone who is not abiding by the new rules of the beach are either warned or penalized as necessary. The company had extensive promotion around keeping the beach clean and even involved influencing people such as local celebrities to convey the message. Over time people became more conscious and the beach gradually became cleaner. I feel this is an excellent example of how not only government and large companies but also the local people and the tourists were involved in keeping the beach clean.