Nowadays Internet and television have given ordinary people a chance to become famous Is this a positive or negative development

Social media has immense influence on the general public and can make or break anyone’s reputation in a nick of time. I believe there is no doubt that in correct circumstances, this is a valuable tool. However, if used wrongly, it can become dangerous weapon and detrimental to both individual and society. Technology has changed our life and the way we communicate and socialize. Social media is the focal of our life and can take any form from sites like Facebook, twitter, LinkedIn, YouTube, online blogs to newspapers, magazines and Television. These media can prove to be the greatest benefit for the ordinary people in a number of ways. Firstly, Teenagers and professionals who have deep knowledge of a particular subject- Mathematics, English literature, Software, Science, Makeup, Lifestyle, Cooking- can make videos and post them on YouTube. These in turn help them to earn money and additionally serves an enormous number of people to gain insight about a subject. Secondly, Reporters go to remote areas and reveal the talents of individuals, who otherwise could not afford to go to major cities to sell their products and services. Thirdly, these cites publish details of day to day life of successful entrepreneurs, businessperson so that others could follow their footsteps to spend an accomplished life. On the other hand, if these media promote bad hobbies and characteristics- pornography, terrorism, violence and scandals- of individuals, it can have lethal effects on youngsters and teenagers as they have not developed their own beliefs and opinions so they can easily be affected and follow their footsteps. Secondly, various programs produce wrong information and facts and figures to get high rating of their program. This could lead individuals to form a wrong concept and context of the event. Thirdly, television produce programs about individual life to get cheap publicity like reality TV programs. Finally, there are so many low-grade videos posted by people on YouTube that they simply waste a lot time of anyone to get to the proper information about the subject matter in question to learn new skills or solve any problem. In conclusion, I believe these media is playing an incredible role to give a platform to people with talents and skills. However, they should scrutinize their content before publishing, posting or streaming.