Nowadays the increased amount of garbage (waste) is a real concern. Why is this happening? What can be done to resolve this?

In today’s world, rising level of rubbish in cities or towns causes a serious problem for governments. Increasing purchasing demand of consumers and exponential rise in the world population are main reasons for this issue. In order to solve this matter, governments should increase taxes of particular products and recycling methods should be implemented more frequently. First and foremost, waste problem in the world has gone worse as the world is getting more crowded and individuals have started to consume much more than their needs. This is because when more people exist, more rubbish is produced, and the excessive amount of consumption exacarbates the garbage problem. To illustrate, the current world population is 7 billion which is couple times more than the past. Besides, the mass production, which has decreased the price of products, has encouraged people to spend more. Consequently, growth of the global population and change in consumer behaviors have created hardships for the countries which cope with massive garbages in streets. There are particular solutions to solve the tremendous waste that are to increase taxes of inorganic products along with using recycling techniques to reuse the organic items. If the organic items are used effectively with reutilizing them, and if the demand for inorganic products are obstructed with higher taxes, the concern of gigantic rubbish can be handled. For instance, in 2019, Turkish Government banned supermarkets to give plastic bags, which constitute a serious portion waste, free of charge with putting taxes on these items, therefore the level of plastic bag consumption has plummetted by 70% year-over-year. As a result, preventative measures and recycling methods by the government can be applied to solve the garbage problem in urban or rural zones. To sum up, the level of garbage in communities has emerged as a major problem because of the consumerism and the rising world population. Governments should take responsibility to resolve this matter with taxing specific goods and recycling goods in a more frequent manner.