All over the world, people watch foreign film much more than locally produced films. ? Why? Should the government provide financial support to local film industries.

Foreign films like the Hollywood blockbusters have been prevailing globally and enjoy a wide range of fans, which poses a tremendous threat to domestically produced films. There could be several reasons why this is the case, and I believe that governments should promote local film-making by subsidising the industry. On the one hand, the main reason why people prefer movies from other countries is the standard of the movie. It is often noticed that local movie in many countries lacks better plots and the characters do not have the necessary depth to touch the hearts and spirits of the audiences. Moreover, foreign films have a great variation such as amazing visual effects, acoustics, professional characters and they are more enjoyable than the internal films. Titanic is a case in point for a real masterpiece and its global appeal is undeniable. It took only one week to be a real box office hit. Furthermore, many developing countries, namely Viet Nam and Lao, documentary film are ubiquitous with out of date contents and image features, thus people, especially teenagers, tend to choose exciting movies in cinemas. Besides, low-income actors is partly the reason why they have no motivation to perform and thus deteriorates the characteristics of the scenes. On the other hand, in my opinion, governing bodies should support local film industries financially. By investing expenditure in sound, images, salaries for actors as well as directors, they definitely boost local film industries in terms of both quality and quantity. For instance, New Zealand, has seen an increase in tourism related to the 'Lord of the Rings' films, which were partly funded by state budgets. Otherwise, by paying more money to deserving actors as well as directors, internal movie zones would attract more excellent and intelligent people to serve their industries. Therefore, the number of audiences has experienced a significant increase not only residential but also internationally. In conclusion, it is reasonable for foreign films to enjoy the popularity at an international level in terms of merits that they may possess, but I believe that increased financial support could help to raise the quality of locally made films and allow them to compete with the foreign productions that currently dominate the market.