Nowadays technology is increasingly being used to monitor what people are saying and doing (for example, through cell phone tracking and security cameras). In many cases, the people being monitored are unaware that this is happening. Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

In today's fast-paced world, with the technological advancement it is possible to conduct public surveillance sometimes even without people’s knowledge. It is certainly true that not all the effects of this innovation have been positive, although there are certainly some advantages. This essay discusses the merits and drawbacks of this development. There are several reasons why monitoring people should be banned. The main reason is that a person’s personal data can be stolen through various virus programs that penetrate computers and mobile phones. For example, they may be used in commercial or political proposes by corporations and governments while this person even do not know about it. Additionally, there are many countries in which democracy is established, but there is tracking people, which is contrary to the personal rights and freedoms of people. For instance, the use of security cameras or listening devices can be harmful to society, because people do not have the opportunity to hold meetings and express their opinions without their privacy being invaded. In spite of these negative effects, however, monitoring people has brought important benefits as well. To begin with, the key objective of monitoring devices is to deter criminals, especially in areas where there is a high crime rate. For example, petty criminals such as shoplifters and pickpockets usually operate in crowded places and the presence of cameras can discourage them from theft and committing crime. Moreover, video recordings can be used as powerful evidence to convict offenders who break the law. As a result, such technologies can provide valuable support to the law in order to build a better society with a low crime rate. To sum up, while there are some obvious drawbacks to monitoring people, strong public surveillance helps reduce crime in a society and make it peaceful. Therefore, I tend to believe that tracking people has brought us many more benefits than disadvantages.