Some parents say that giving expensive gifts to a child can create bad habits in him/her. Agree or disagree.

Giving expensive gifts to a child is a controversial topic nowadays. It is believed by some that costly presents can have a detrimental effect on children, I, however, agree with this view as they become addicted and do not value that present. One imperative reason for not providing costly gifts to children is that they no longer value it. To elucidate, if they get costly presents one after another from their parents without asking, it will reduce the importance of present for them and they do not tend to play with old valuable presents. Moreover, a child is not mature enough to handle that costly gift and he does not know which hardship his parents forced to give them such a valuable item. For instance, a study by Child Care Organisation found that 59% of children who get costly gifts frequently without asking to never play with the same presents again. Addiction to expensive gifts is also an obvious reason to avoid giving children valuable gifts. Due to good financial condition, a child gets costly gifts which make them addicted to having such gifts every time. It is true that the future is unpredictable, so we do not know whether their parents could afford to buy or not. In order to steer clear such addiction in the future, their parents should avoid providing them buy such costly presents. Furthermore, such addiction leads to the financial burden on parents, which is inevitable. For example, a survey by the Times of India in March 2019 revealed that 52% of parents take a loan due to pestering habits of their child. consequently, it creates a financial burden on them. In conclusion, although some are still in favour of giving expensive presents to children, I strongly disagree as not only do they not value expensive presents one after another, but also they become addicted to it and can create a financial burden on their parents.