Nowadays technology is increasingly being used to monitor what people are saying and doing ( for example, through cell phone tracking and security cameras). In many cases, the people being monitored are unaware that this is happening). Do you think the adv

In today' s world, technology has influenced almost every aspect of our lives. In the 21st century, digital technologies can facilitate shopping, working and education. However, the technologies of today can easily monitor our everyday activities or analyze an individual' s private conversations. While some people believe that monitoring activities are critical to ensure our security, others contend that these interferences in our everyday lives are unnecessary. Administrations around the world are responsible for the safety of their citizens. One important responsibility is safe guarding people from crime. Perhaps one of the most effective ways to ensure that criminal behavior is minimized is through surveillance. Closed Circuit Television (CCTV) can minimize crime by providing a visual record of any illegal activity. For example, retail outlets closely monitor the movements of shoppers. If they detect anything suspicious, security may take action to prevent theft. This is a significant deterrent to a would be thief and helps to prevent crime. However, surveillance cameras have become ubiquitous in many of our cities. London is a good case in point. In this city, there are over 400, 000 CCTV cameras covering almost every aspect of a Londoner' s daily life. It is true that the visuals from these cameras have been used to successfully prosecute criminals, but many people believe this is an invasion of their privacy. Further to this, mobile telephone conversations, text messaging and email can also be monitored and recorded by corporations and governments. To conclude, administrations are quick to point towards the advantages of continuing the expansion of surveillance technologies. They believe that these technologies are essential for ensuring public safety. In my opinion, there are situations where CCTV is a useful security tool although an individual' s privacy must also be respected.