Nowadays, sport is becoming a big business with high earning for professional sportsmen and a lot of companies have involved in financially and in other ways. Is this a positive or negative development?

Sport has turned out as a multi-billion-dollar industry thanks to the involvement of business firms, which economically benefits athletes. While I accept that this tendency exerts advantageous impacts on the society, I believe that it also brings about several drawbacks. On the one hand, when money is poured into sports, it acts as a catalyst for a positive development by two major reasons. Regarding to athletes, their participation in sport merchandising, such as the endorsement of sporting goods, is believed to substantially upgrade their incomes. As a result, they may find it easier to earn a living and assure a decent life, compared to their predecessors in the past and, therefore, can completely focus on their career and boost their achievement. Regarding to the nation’s sports, its prosperity is expected to eradicate the stereotype that athletes never reap an adequate remuneration to their dedications and efforts. Therefore, this will motivate more youngsters to take up sports, which may provides a huge number of potential sport professions for the country. On the other hand, when sport is transformed into a business, it also contributes to the emergence of many problems. Firstly, the engaging economic output is sometimes prioritized over the Olympic ideal by athletes. Consequently, this leads to a win-at-all-cost attitude, which drives sportsmen to illegal behaviors, like using performance-enhancing drugs. Secondly, a more serious challenge stems from sports betting, which may make athletes turn into crime due to getting involved in match fixing, as we see in football recently, when many Vietnamese players were disqualified from participation due to being manipulated by sports betting criminals. If athletes are not mature enough, the financial outcome will jeopardized their careers by eroding moral characters. In conclusion, I opine that when people commercialize sports, not only does this create beneficial effects but also promotes many obstacles.