Nowadays, some employers think that formal academic qualifications are more important than life experience or personal qualities when they look for new employees. Why is it the case? Is it a positive or negative development?

Whether or not to get formal certificates is increasingly controversial. While some people believe that degrees are more important than personal qualities when they consider to look for new employees, they also think that it is a negative development. As well as offering my opinion, this essay will discuss both viewpoints in depth. On the one hand, certifications hinder a plethora of merits in individual’s ability assessment, especially in terms of professional knowledge. This is in part because if they have qualifications, they will be qualified enough to do the job. Statistically, a recent survey conducted by the University of Science and Technology shows that sixty percent of employers require formal degrees of their employees. On the other hand, there are still some people who oppose the lines of reasoning mentioned earlier, and they might argue that this trend will weaken importance of life experience. But more crucially, what should be clearly borne in mind in this case is that having experience helps worker do the job quicker. As a matter of fact, numerous studies have consistently found that fifty percent of jobs solely require experience and personal qualities rather than those degrees. To conclude, after investigating both sides of the discussion, my personal sentiments are on a par with the notion that when seeking for new employees, employers should not think that getting academic qualifications is more valuable than life experience and qualities, which is a negative development as a result. Only by following this way of thinking could a more beneficial outcome for those involved be ensured in the future to come.