Some people believe that school children should not be given homework by their teachers, whereas others argue that homework plays an important role in the education of children.

Some people think it is not a good idea for teachers to assign home study tasks to school children, while others say it is an essential part of learning. In my view, youngsters need to be assigned homework for better exam results because it gives them a chance at entering higher education. On the one hand, some people hold the view that too many home assignments is of no real benefit and becomes a burden to school children. This is because pupils spend their whole day studying at school and they feel tired after returning home, then they have the added stress of finishing their homework. To illustrate this, in Japan the majority of youngsters are under pressure to complete large amounts of homework. If they fail to finish their assignments they cannot get into a good high school. I think that pupils ought to be given home assignments but should not be put under this kind of pressure. On the other hand, others feel that homework plays a vital role in the development of knowledge for students. They believe this because it helps pupils understand school subjects better, which then gives them the opportunity to attain higher grades. For example, if a pupil regularly does mathematics or English studies at home, they will definitely expand their knowledge concerned with those topics, which could not be gained from solely studying at school. I agree with this view as it improves a child’s chances of entering tertiary education and eventually obtaining a well paid job. To conclude, although views differ with regard to whether children should be given homework or not. I believe home assignments are necessary to help pupils get high grades, which allows them to secure a place at university and improves their career prospects.