People are influenced by advertising. And what measures can be taken to protect them?

It is inescapable how the power of advertising can be manipulative in the way it controls people’s behaviour and thoughts. However, there are ways in which people can prevent themselves from falling victim to such tactics. Most noticeably, advertisements target specific audiences by selling a lifestyle or image with a product or service that would most appeal to them. Often, it plays on people’s desires or dreams such as the perfect body, and fools them into believing that their life could positively change. What this leads to is another problem with the way people associate self-worth with image. It is unfortunate that if a person does not choose the most reputable items or services, we instantly disapprove and make judgements, thus there is great pressure to buy popular items in order to feel socially accepted. Undeniably, humans are susceptible to these behaviours but the government can significantly help by policing advertisements that make false claims, whether directly or indirectly. It is still normal to see products such as soft drinks, highlighting the added vitamins but not the high amount of sugar, resulting in the belief that such a product could be healthy. The government could also standardise the quality of products so that there is less of a difference between brands. Consumers would be able to base their purchasing decisions on design or features, rather than the reputation or calibre. To summarise, advertising can fool people into a false sense of happiness as well as altering the way we perceive others. Although these effects are hard to avoid, the government can minimise them by enforcing tougher regulations and guidelines.