Nowadays, some employers think that formal academic qualifications are more important than life experience or personal qualities when they look for new employees. Why is it the case? Is it a positive or negative development?

In the recruiting phase, some recruiters often give priority to candidates with a bachelor's degree, yet have no proper regard for other aspects. In this essay, the causes will be discussed in-depth, and in my point of view, I believe this is a negative trend. To begin with, there are grounds to argue that it is an effective hiring strategy. Firstly, the well-designed university program equips students with specialized knowledge which is indispensable in the actual work environment. Thus, educational attainments are solid evidence for their diligence and persistence during acquisition as well as their ability to make valuable contributions towards the prosperity of the companies. Secondly, acquiring and retaining high-quality talent plays a decisive role in an organization’s success. Therefore, formal qualifications are of paramount importance to organizations to ensure the existence of the best possible pool of potentially qualified applicants from which they can fill vacancies as and when required. Nevertheless, from my own perspective, this recruitment criterion may be inadequate in some respects. Firstly, while graduating with favorable achievements, they may have insufficient soft skills such as interpersonal and problem-solving skills. Consequently, they will be less productive compared with their peers and adversely affect the companies' profit. Secondly, personal virtues are also a critical aspect that employers should not neglect. Undoubtedly, destructive traits pose a significant threat to the sustainable development of companies. Dishonest and unenthusiastic workers, for example, will attempt to fraudulently steal money from the company and easily lose loyal customers by their improper attitude. In conclusion, although I recognize that academic standards are essential, I believe that companies should consider all features to make a judicious selection.