the only way to improve road safety is to give much stricter punishments on driving offences.

Some people believe that giving much stricter sentences on traffic offences is the only way to improve road safety. In my opinion, I disagree with this statement as I think there are other effective measures that can also tackle this problem. On the one hand, imposing stricter punishments on traffic law-breakers could be seen as an effective way of road safety. This is because it may deter drivers from violating traffic laws regulations. In fact, some people, especially adults exceed the speed limit, leading to a lot of serious traffic accidents. Therefore, giving many stringent punishments should be enacted. Also, those who drive while intoxicated or using mobile phone deserve to be banned from the road. In recent years, Viet Nam has many heart-breaking traffic accidents due to the lack of awareness of drivers who use too much alcohol. If there are fewer drivers breaking traffic laws, the roads may become safer for all road users. On the other hand, there are other alternative measures which would also be effective. Authorities could, for example, install more surveillance and speed cameras to make potential law-breakers aware of the need to abide by speed limits. This measure is crucial in many cities as a way to keep people committing illegal actions. Another sustainable measure is upgrading the transportation infrastructures mainly because the low-quality state of roads and streets are the factor culprits of the occurrence of numerous traffic accidents. For instance, in Viet Nam, there are many people falling off when their motorbikes go over a big pot-hole. In conclusion, in order to enhance road safety, it is not enough to be tough on traffic crimes by punishing harshly those violating the law. Personally, to achieve the best results, the combination of the aforementioned ideas is the most effective strategy.