Nowadays, some employers think that formal academic qualifications are more important than life experience or personal qualities when they look for new employees. Why is it the case? Is it a positive or negative development?

In this increasingly competitive society, high-level qualifications are considered to be more expected than life experience or personal qualities by some employers when they seek new candidates these days. In my perspective point of view, I believe that this is a negative movement. There are two factors to explain why recruiters put formal academic certifications as top priorities when recruiting new employees. Firstly, in many professions, a university degree is needed for a specific job. A student has to devote a lot of time and effort to his or her study in order to get a university qualification which somehow prove that this student is a hard-working and persevering person. For instance, a candidate for biology teacher position is required to have a great deal of knowledge at university as well as spend a lot of time to practice and carry out experiments. Secondly, this tendency might be a great way for a recruiter to save time finding top-notch applicants. Selecting the candidates base on common criteria certificates is necessary for screening the good candidates from a large applicant pool before employers find their excellent and right employee. Compared to formal academic candidates who are likely ready to start working, employers may have to spend time on training non-academic applicants how to work properly. However, I think that this is a negative development and recruiters should consider a mix of factors, including education background, work experience and personalities. Many people decide to work right after school instead of starting tertiary education in order to gain life skills and practical experience. On top of that, after a long time of working in a real work environment, people are also capable of doing most assigned tasks without a formal academic education. In addition, warmth and smiles indicate the type of employee who will work well with others. An unhappy worker takes more time to finish the quest, does only the minimum to avoid being fired while a happy worker finds value in the work they do, and do the best they can to finish it. In conclusion, compared with qualifications, life experience and personal traits are considered less important criterion for employers to assess potential employees, and I believe that this is a negative progress for the above-mentioned arguments