Nowadays people usually retire at the age of 60 or 65, but some want to keep working as long as they can. Is this a positive or a negative development? Give you own opinion and relevant examples.

Different countries have allocated different ages for deciding whether a person is an adult or not. I think an eighteen-year-old is mature enough to be declared legally as an adult since she has sufficient knowledge of the world to make decisions and she is wise to differentiate between right and wrong. By the time a person turns eighteen, she has spent more than 14 years in the formal education system. This gives her sufficient knowledge of a country’s culture, economy, vegetation, politics, and society to make informed decisions. A person at this age has learned about the basics of all subjects. For instance, by this age, most students have sufficient knowledge of the human body to make an informed choice about diet. Similarly, they have also learned about events such as global warming and plastic waste to decide when to use cars and plastic bags. Moreover, most people, by this age, have developed a strong idea of morality. They know enough about honesty, integrity, love, and care to make a wise choice. They have the awareness about the rights of other individuals and know that violating those rights may attract punishment. For example, an eighteen-year-old male knows that rape is a punishable offense and if he violates a woman’s body, he will have to bear its consequences. Similarly, he understands the actions such as theft, violence, and murder and their consequences. Those who are below this age have a fuzzy idea about right and wrong. In conclusion, by the time people turn 18, they have developed the ability to think and make informed choices. This is important to make them independent in life and to transform them into responsible individuals.