Nowadays people use social media to keep up with the news. Why they do this? Is it a positive or negative trend?

These days our access to information is greater than it ever was thanks in large part to our connection to the internet. Many of us use this connectivity to keep abreast of local and global events via social media. In this essay, I will examine why people do this and explain why, despite the essay access to information, I feel that it can negatively impact society. There are many reasons why people turn to social media for their news, but the most oblivious one is convenience. Whereas in the past, it was necessary to wait for the TV news at 6pm or for the newspaper to be delivered each morning, now this information is in our hands instantly via the apps on our phones. As soon as we click on Facebook or Twitter, for instance, we see the latest headlines and developments without even having to search for them. As such, we can be not only better informed about local current affairs, but about global events too. Clearly, this essay and instant access to information is the main reason people are turning to social media rather than traditional news source. Although it is certainly convenient, this trend has a worrying impact. This is because the information we receive is heavily biased. Indeed, as our social media feeds are increasingly personalized, we tend to be served only the news and stories that appeal to us, as decided by an algorithm. What your friends and connections like and share also impacts your feed, which further limits what you view. In other words, if you are politically left-wing, you will probably only be encountering stories that align with your biases and beliefs. In this way, we are blocked from engaging with views contrary to our own, which can give rise to greater prejudice, ignorance and intolerance. In conclusion, people use social media to follow the news because it is an easy way to stay informed. While this is potentially valuable, if people are not aware of the way their news feed is tailored to them, and do not seek information from other sources, the effects of accessing the news via social media can be damaging.