In some countries, parents expect children to spend long time studying both in and after school, and have less free time. Do you think it has the positive or negative effects on children and society?

It's true that most of the parents'd rather their children spent more time on studying and cut down free time. While I accept that this statement offers lots of benefits, I believe that it also has several drawbacks. On the one hand, there are a number of reasons why studying both in and after school is positive for children. First of all, knowledge is very valuable, so studying for a long time will help children grow up better. For instance, acquiring knowledge about some subjects at school such as Sciences, Arts and especially English can bring more good opportunities to their future career. The next reason is that spending less free time means children can be restricted to overuse the Internet, which has detrimental implication on their physical and mental health. On the Internet, some violent and bad news can distort their way of thinking about families, friends and society. On the other hand, paralleling with these conducive effects, learning too much without enough relaxing also affect juveniles badly. Firstly, having less free time can make them to develop unequally. They may have the lack of soft skill like communication skill or have butterflies in their stomach when speaking publicly. As a result, they will find it difficult to adapt to the modern world. Last but not least, immersing themselves in studying may affect their feeling. In my high school, there was a girl killing herself due to lypemania after being overwhelmed with learning all day long. In conclusion, after weighing the pros and cons, I would say that juveniles should devote their time to expand their knowledge and chill out appropriately.