Nowadays, people of all ages from certain parts of the world spend most time at home rather than going outdoors. Discuss the reasons, is this negative or positive development?

In recent times, children and adults in some countries spend a great amount of time indoors rather than participating in activities outside their homes. The increase in the use of the social and mass media are the significant factors to this warning trend. Firstly, many people spend a lot of time on online social networks which has reduced the need for face-to-face conversations outside their homes in various communities. For instance, with social networking websites such as, Facebook, Whatsapp and Telegram, people can make friends, interact with their associates and share ideals with like minds online. This has reduce the need to go outdoor. Secondly, with telecommunication advancements, adults and children can buy movies online, pay for television subscriptions and watch the television programs without leaving their homes. As a consequence, the popularity of outdoor events is on the decline in some countries. Consequently, more people are developing health problems as a result of this negative development. These health complications are asociated with the sedentary lifestyles of people who spend a lot of their time indoors, such as obesity, diabetes, depression and stroke. For example, in 2018, Health for All, a Nigerian think-tank projected that by 2025, a quarter of cardiovascular complications will be due to lack of active outdoor recreational activities in the country. This health challenges could be reduced if people spend more time outdoors. In conclusion, people of various age groups in some parts of the wold spend a significant amount of their time indoors in order to watch the television and connect to their friends online, despite causing adverse health effects. The governments should setup interesting outdoor programs geared towards encouraging people to spend more time outside their homes.