Nowadays people live in the society where consumer goods are cheaper to buy. Do you think its advantages outweigh disadvantages?

Today's era is significantly advanced than that of the past and availability of cheap consumer products attracts people to buy things more frequently than ever before. Even though the living standard of people has improved with this, I feel that the demerits of this trend cannot be overlooked. On one hand, as a result of globalisation people can access the national and the international products at an affordable price. For instance, new gadgets such as Android cell phones are available in the market at an acceptable price that everyone can afford. In a sense, the widespread use of such technological devices has improved the way we communicate but this is also creating a throwaway society. The gap between the rich and poor has narrowed in terms of their ability to purchase consumer products. Living standard has improved and basic needs are easily met these days and more people have the opportunities to select from more options. As a result, people are purchasing things that do not even need. A single person has multiple cell phones and they are busy all day with their cell phones and internet. Thus people are becoming less social. The technology changes rapidly and thus people need to change the model of a product within few months. The amount of wastage created from these electronic devices is a matter of great concern. Cheaper price of cars and motorbikes are the primary reason for traffic congestion and the habit of purchasing products that people do not really need is a very bad trend. On the other hand, due to the cheaply available goods, a newer trend of material possession has emerged. Nowadays people consider this as their status symbol. For example, people who possess the branded gadgets or latest cars earn a respectable position in the society and this is a degradation of morality and social value. In addition, this trend leads to a throwaway culture and the amount of trash produced each day is increased dangerously. As a result environmental pollution is irreversible. Moreover, cheap availability of products motivates people to consume the unwanted products. Last but not the least, most of the technologies used for developing cost effective products are harmful to human health and human life is jeopardised. Taking everything into consideration, availability of consumer products at an affordable price is a  positive trend as it helps people to lead a better life. However, the negative sides of this trend cannot be forgotten. Social, personal and environmental problems are ever increasing due to this and it might be a serious threat for the future generation.