An increasing number of people choose to live in big cities. What problems will this bring about? Should the government encourage people to live in small towns?

It is certainly true that nowadays people are shifting to larger cities. There are several reasons and consequences of this moot issue, however, the government can play a vital role so that one can be rehabilitated into the small towns. To begin with, people migrate to big cities to enjoy the facilities available over there and to secure their children’s future. Large cities are the places where various educational institutions are established. Moreover, more job opportunities attract the people towards the cities. Nonetheless, this moving of an enormous number of people creates problems. Firstly, the urban population would go on increasing, because of this, there would be the housing problem. Furthermore, this leads to the creation of underdeveloped slum areas. Secondly, in most of the cases, people in large cities might not obtain the job after several trials which lead to deterioration of their standard of living. The overpopulation is big cities would create more pollutions, would increase the crime rate and traffic congestion would become worse. Next, as the population in cities increases, the number of people staying in towns and villages gradually decrease. Because of this, there might be a situation when food harvesting steps down, this, in turn, produces food scarcity. Owing to all the above reasons it is clear that, the life of people in cities is highly stressful and problematic. On the other hand, the government can change this situation of people in large cities. Firstly, the government should improve the facilities in towns so that people do not think of moving to cities in search of better life. This can be done by developing the transport system which interconnects different towns and cities. This encourages the establishment of companies that generates the employment for youth. Construction of schools and colleges in the towns and countryside will help the children to study well. Moreover, providing employment allowances would also be beneficial. The government should decentralise many industries and offices so that small towns create more job opportunities. A large portion of the national budget should be allocated for the development of rural areas. In conclusion, I believe that it is the government’s responsibility to look after the welfare of its people. Hence, shifting of more people to cities could be checked by providing city-like opportunities and facilities.