Nowadays people are working from home using computers and telephones. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this development.

Technological advancements in recent times have brought significant changes in our work practices, such as work is now being done from home by many people using electronic gadgets. This essay discusses the positive and negative aspects of this new development. To begin with, conventional work practices have always been an integral part of an individual’s professional life. However, there is a new trend of working from home has evolved over the past few years. Though, numerous benefits are there because of this change, foremost is the flexibility of time for a working person. For instance, one can meet a deadline by working from home over the weekend rather than sitting late at night in office premises. Furthermore, another benefit is, it saves a person’s time and cost where an individual is required to travel extensively to reach workplace which can also involve high travelling cost. In this way, it provides various benefits for people who work from home. Nevertheless, there are various advantages of working remotely, there are some disadvantages as well. Most important aspect to consider is the one’s inability to develop team skills. For example, when individuals work from their home, they do not get the opportunity to work with other team members and fail to develop their interpersonal skills. Moreover, concentration is another problem while working from home. In other words, no matter how hard one tries, there will always be distractions and hence, it will be difficult for one to focus and complete the task on time. To conclude, this essay discussed both the upside and downside of work from home culture. Although, this strategy has been adopted by some organization, however, this trend may not be able to replace the conventional working style in near future.