Nowadays people are working from home using computers and telephones. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this development?

These days more and more people are working remotely by means of computers and telephones. Remote workers can benefit from working from anywhere and anytime as well as reduced costs but there are also drawbacks to be considered. On the one hand, thanks to technological advancements and invention of some social networking applications such as skype, people from all walks of life can earn money anywhere and anytime. By doing this, individuals can save time and money, on transportation, as an example. Because it does not require to book a taxi, take a bus or use your private car to reach to your office. This, in turn, causes less traffic congestion and polluted air which is beneficial for people’s well-being, both physically and mentally. Another positive aspect of telecommuting is the high productivity it brings. At home, people can provide and benefit from a cozy ambiance without any distractor. In this circumstance, telecommuters can focus more on their task and do it as precise as possible, which results in more productive work. On the other hand, one problem of working from home is less connection with colleagues. This may negatively affect people’s communication skill and trigger social isolation which in turn might cause some mental diseases like depression. Another possible issue of telecommuting is that remote workers may fail to separate their work and life. For instance, many women hold the view that when their husband is at home, he should allocate most of his time to his family. So people working from home may encounter obstacles in their life and family problems as a result of immersing themselves in their assignment in the vicinity of their family. In conclusion, while people can hugely benefit from working in their own home, it may also lead to isolation or family issues.