Nowadays people are working from home using computers and telephones. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this development?

People have different perspectives on whether working from home is beneficial or not. Some people think that working from home using computers and telephones is advantageous as a person can enjoy freedom and other benefits, whereas others opine that it has some drawbacks. In my opinion, this trend has both positive and negative aspects. There are definitely several advantages to working from home. Firstly, people can work independently as there is no one to supervise their work. Secondly, when people work from home, they do not have to adhere to fixed work hours. Rather they can choose hours convenient to them. Thirdly, working from home helps people to save time and travel expenses. In some major cities, the average commute takes two to three hours. People who work from home can save this time and spend it with their loved ones. Working from home has its downsides too. One possible drawback of working from home is that it does not develop a person’s team skills. In other words, sometimes a business issue can only be solved through team work and this is not possible when all employees work from home. Another issue of this culture is that a person will not develop people management skill which is the key to their promotion to managerial posts. Therefore, people who work from home have limited chances of growth within the organization. Distractions are another common problem. No matter how hard they try, people who work from home cannot work with full concentration because there will always be interference from family members. In conclusion, although there are several advantages to working from home, this culture does not allow people to develop their interpersonal and team skills.