Nowadays people are influenced by fashion, in particular when choosing their clothes and hairstyle. Is this a positive or a negative development?

Clothing has been a great obsession for mankind from the day on which he set foot on this planet. These days, fashion has a great impact on the way people dress up or do their hair. I personally find this a negative development due to several reasons which will be discussed in the following. To begin with, being a fashion icon sets one back in the path toward achieving goals. Firstly, fashion clothes are usually made out of expensive materials such as cashmere or suede, resulting in a hefty price tag on them. Thus, it will cost a fortune does one want to be up to date with the fashion. Secondly, following fashion will take a lot of time from an individual inasmuch as not only is he forced to follow the magazines and latest shows, but he has to take some time to shop and find the right size of clothes. Consequently, money and time, the most valuable assets in modern age, are wasted, which could be simply invested to achieve another goal like buying a better car. Research has shown that people interested in fashion spend 20 percent of their income and 40 hours a month to follow brans and buy clothes. Moreover, following fashion can be harmful for the body and health. As said before, it takes time and money to be fashionable. Therefore, one will be forced to work harder as well as cutting back from other expenses such as going to the gym in order to provide the money needed for buying clothes. As a result, he eventually will quit healthy lifestyle, which will lead to diseases in the long-term. Granted what was aid, it must be taken into account that sometimes people are forced to dress up. In everyone’s life there are some rite of passages in which people wish to be as handsome and good-looking as possible, and as it happens fashionable clothes like tuxedos make people look awesome. To sum up, even though looking good matters, being up to the fashion is a negative development. This will cost one a lot of time and money and can be harmful for his body.