Nowadays in many countries, people are following the latest fashion, hairstyles and so on. Why are they so influenced by fashion? Is it a positive or a negative development?

When it comes to fashion and new trends, one of the most significant factors come to our mind is that many individuals excessively follow the most novel fashions ranging from outfits or hairstyles to home design. In this essay, some reasons behind this phenomenon and some serious drawbacks contributed by this habit are going to be discussed. People’s notion of beauty could be the main incentive for spending time and money to follow latest fashion and styles. To achieve it they do a lot of things including purchasing branded dress, shoes, ornaments and regularly visiting beauty parlours, spa centres and so on. Being beautiful and attractive is one of the most delightful feelings which human-being are keen to experience. Having updated styles in terms of appearance could widely gift such feeling. Moreover, many people believe that fashion not only could be a factor of beauty but it also helps them to obtain the individuality and uniqueness in their community, at least in visual aspects. Many people are heavily influenced by the famous celebrities they like and try to dress like them. Teenagers sometimes follow the latest trends without any particular reason and sometimes to be different from others. Some people are in fashion industries and they try to present their unique identity by following the latest fashion design. Finally, television programmes and advertisement have a great influence on people and these people simply want to be more attractive by following the latest fashion. Despite a diversity of superficial merits of excessive attention to fashion, it seems that its obvious disadvantages strongly draw societies’ care. For one, because of the fact that acquiring the latest fashion facilities entails a great deal of money, people are impelled to spend much of their budget for fulfilling their to look attractive. Furthermore, wasting time for thinking and searching in fashion world could be mentioned as another demerit of such time-consuming activities. By the way of illustration, one of the serious complications for parents is to tackle their children wasting time in shopping centres or surfing on the Internet pursuing the newest clothing etc. Fashion and latest trends are not restricted to hair style or costumes only. Piercing, tattooing, wearing bizarre materials are some other trends that often create social and family issues in many societies. In brief, possessing elegant appearance and/or trying to be matched with the community could be some of the crucial elements of surfing in fashion-world and pursuing fashion excessively could lead to multitude impacts on individuals social and personal life alike in long-term.