Nowadays parents put too much pressure on their children to succeed. What is the reason for doing this? Is this a negative or positive development?

These days, children are more and more facing lots of considerable pressures, which parents consider to lead their children to success. This has appeared among parents due to many reasons, and it can also bring negative results. On the one hand, a majority of parents put pressure on adolescents to be successful for various reasons. One of the main reasons is that parents are the only persons who want their youngsters to have a better future. Only when they see their children succeed, will they feel happy and content; therefore, they are responsible for their children and always want their children to learn what is relevant to their career. Another reason is that parents are under pressure from society to expect their children. Because parents fear children's failing or not overcoming fierce competition life as well as someone asks or compares them to siblings, neighbors, they often push their children to study hard to achieve more success. On the other hand, it can be seen that too much pressure would adversely affect a child’s mental health. When children are forced to engage in activities that go beyond their interests and abilities, it will not lead to good results because children may have a lot of stress. Focusing on learning without engaging in extra-curricular activities, children will feel bored, even depressed. As a result, symptoms such as insomnia, excessive anxiety, giving up personal preferences or alienating people around them significantly appear, and this actually causes bad influences on their study results. In conclusion, although parents put too much pressure on their children simply because they want their children to have a bright future as well as not inferior to anyone, I believe that it has more of a negative impact on a child’s psychological health.