Nowadays parents put too much pressure on their children to succeed. What is the reason for doing this? Is this a negative or positive development?

It is true that children have overly enforced from the parents to achieve success in their life. There are several reasons for such approach of parents, which on the whole, I consider to be very negative. Most parents have too much concern about the future career of their offspring. They think that being a successful person will bring a lot of opportunities for children. For example, most parents expect their children would become a doctor or engineer, and they can secure future jobs. As a result, children performance at school would be the main focus of parents to assess them and keep them in enormous study timetable to achieve higher exam score. Therefore, the wariness of better future might lead the forcible attitude of parents to their offspring. However, I would argue that the above development has harmful effects on children. It can be both depressive and discouraging. Many parents tend to engage their children only for future achievements, and they omit the entertainment part of the youngsters. This could affect their mental wellbeing and cause of psychological sufferings. A recent survey shows that in Bangladesh, 20% of children suffer from various mental disorders due to lack of recreation. Similarly, rapid pressures from parents for same activities can raise procrastination on children, which might be obstacles to learn new skills. Thus, enforcing children to succeed could be detrimental for children’s mental developments. In conclusion, though enforcement of parents might help to gain success of children, I believe that this could be psychologically disadvantageous for them.