Nowadays parents are sending their children trips abroad for educational purposes. What are the advantages and disadvantages

In recent times children are being sent by their parents to a foreign country for educational pursuits, in order that they acquire good quality education. However, they can be distracted by electronic gadgets, which could derail them from focusing on their studies, if not properly directed. Children who are sent to a foreign land for studies have benefited immensely, one of which is that they get good quality education. Whilst studying abroad, children get better tutoring since the institutions has standardised teaching curriculum. These students are able to compete with their counterparts anywhere in the world and even in the labour market. A good example is my cousin who studied Petroleum Engineering in Canada. This has helped him in getting a multinational Job there and he is back in Nigeria as an expatriate. Schooling abroad can be beneficial to children in the long run because they obtain an excellent education and they are taught with standardised curriculum. However, children can be distracted if parental guidance is absent. Laptops, mobile phones and even social media could derail them from studying and focusing on their grades. My neighbour's son was not able to conclude his studies in the UK because he was carried away by these gadgets and he was sent back to Nigeria because his grades dwindled consistently. Therefore, distractions could affect children sent abroad if not properly guided. To conclude, Sending children to study abroad a has its upside, but being distracted is a major drawback that can hinder success if not properly handled.