Nowadays more and more people buy and use their own cars. Do you think the advantages of this trend for individuals outweigh its disadvantages for the environment?

The debate about the impact of vehicles on the environment has been on for a while. Recently, quite a number of people now purchase and drive their personal cars. This essay will look at the positives for private car owners, as well as the negatives on the environment; although, I think the advantages of growing number of car users far outweigh the negative impact on the surroundings. One of the advantages is the convenience a privately-owned car avail to its owner. More and more people now want to avoid the stress of taking public transport every now and then. Moreover, owning your own car will also get you to your destination a lot faster than public transport, which tend to waste time by having to stop at every interval. For instance, driving from Ikeja to Yaba will last fifteen minutes, whereas, it takes about double that time when commuting on a public vehicle. To summarize, individuals will opt for more convenient means of getting to their destination, and more preferably, if it gets them there faster. On other hand, increase in vehicular movements on the road poses a great threat to the surroundings in terms of air and noise pollution. The more cars on the road, the more the around us is polluted. This is because, most cars run by burning petrol or diesel which emit harmful substances into the atmosphere. Furthermore, noise pollution is caused by blaring of honks indiscriminately, which occurs as a result of more and more people using the road. For example, in lagos over 3 million cars ply the roads daily. The effect this is the over-bearing amount of noise and air pollution experienced in the city. To conclude, this essay has weighed the positives of many people driving their cars in terms of convenience, and the negative effect on the environment in terms of pollution on the environment. I think the positives outnumber the disadvantages to the environment.