Nowadays more and more business meetings and business trainings are taking place online. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays taking a year out to live or study is becoming increasingly popular. For many people, especially young adults, the chance to spend an extended period of time overseas is an attractive one. However, there are both pros and cons to decide to do this. In this essay, I will discuss some of the reasons why moving abroad is so popular and some of the challenges to be overcome. Let’s begin by looking at the advantages of moving away. One of the main positive heading overseas is that it broadens your horizons. What I mean by this is that you have the chance to meet people from different cultural backgrounds and learn to cope with customs and food. This can make you more rounded as a person. Secondly, moving abroad can lead to a better quality of life. Take a British people for example. Thousands of people from the UK move to Spain and Australia every year. These countries have warmer climates and encourage a better work -life balance. In addition, by living overseas, you can gain qualifications and language skills, which may improve promotion prospects on your return. Turning to the other side of the argument, culture shock is a major problem. Many people who take a year out find it hard to cope with the language barrier, the food and general cultural differences. This often leads to homesickness and in some cases a sense of isolation. Another issue is that it can be difficult to start a new life from scratch. In other words, when you move abroad, you have to make new friends and find your place in the community. This process takes time and can be especially challenging if there is also a language barrier. Personally, I believe the benefits in terms of personal growth eventually outweigh any negatives.