In recent years, there has been a rise in the popularity of second-hand clothing amongst younger generations. Why is this happening? Do you think it’s a positive or negative development?

Recently, purchasing used clothes has become a popular trend, especially among young people. The main reason for this is the shortage of money and, I believe that it is a positive trend as it recycles old clothes, which is beneficial for the environment. To begin with, most of the youngsters these days do not have sufficient money to buy a variety of clothes. The reason for this is unemployment, as many of them do not have a lucrative job to fulfil their desires. Moreover, branded clothes mostly have high price range which makes them unaffordable for the young generation and thus they prefer to buy the second-hand outfits having cheap rates. To exemplify, owing to the popularity of used clothes among the youngsters, the number of second-hand outfit stores has doubled in the year 2019 in Delhi. Thus, this trend provides the opportunity to the youngsters to try multiple varieties of clothes in low budget. Choosing second-hand clothes is a form of recycling and, in my perspective, it has a positive impact on the environment. This is because, the production of clothes and fabrics involves a usage of chemicals, water and electricity in large quantities, which gradually leads to the over-consumption of natural resources and thus affecting the environment. To illustrate, according to a survey by the ‘Time’, 60% of the chemicals and electricity consumption is done by the clothes manufacturing industries. Therefore, with the usage of second-hand clothes, the production of new ones can be minimised to some extent, helping to reduce negative environmental impacts. In conclusion, more young people are choosing to buy second-hand clothes as they are short of money, and this has a positive impact on the environment by reducing the need to produce and reusing of the old ones.