Nowadays, more and more and more people decide to have children later in their life. What are the reasons? Do advantages of this outweigh disadvantages?

Scientific research is a hotly-debate topic that often divides opinion. It is thought to be managed and funded by authorities instead of private institutions. To a certain extent, I agree that the government is responsible for research projects. However, I believe that these activities should also be conducted by private organizations. The following essay takes a look at both sides of the argument. On the one hand, there are some benefits of governments taking care of scientific research. To start with, the government is capable of providing financial assistance to various research projects, as governments of different countries can collaborate together. For instance, they can carry out research into ways of dealing with greenhouse effect. Unlike private companies, governments tend to pay more attention to research fields that can benefit society as a whole. Studies related to environmental issues or crime rates are great examples. Furthermore, if the project fails to achieve its objectives, the government has the resources to cope up with the losses incurred. On the contrary, companies usually only amplify profits rather than giving a hand to all citizens. A scientific project which is organized and handled by private companies, would deteriorate its reliability. Without government control, some companies could carry out illegal research like destructive, biochemical weapons, and it could pose a bad consequence to society, even threaten the world peace. It is the governments’ job to prevent and block these kinds of research. On the other hand, I believe that private companies should also share the responsibility to conduct scientific research. The first advantage is that this could help to ease the pressure on the national budget. As a result, citizens would have to pay lower taxes, and the authorities would also have more cash to spend on other important fields such as education or the military. Since the top priority of companies is to earn money, they would have more motivation to conduct research more quickly and effectively. Without sufficient funding, many important scientific projects would be abandoned, impact adversely on the development of any nation. In addition, the scope of scientific research is diverse and wide, and private companies could cover up some research which is not controlled by the authorities. On top of that, when the funding comes from the same organization, the results could also be biased to ensure there is a favourable outcome to the funding institution. Weighing up both sides of the argument, private companies need to be given their own freedom in doing research, but with adequate and appropriate monitoring from the government.