Nowadays, More And More People Decide To Have Children Later In Their Life. What Are The Reasons? Do Advantages Of This Outweigh Disadvantages?

In contemporary society, adults are inclined to delay having children until they reach their middle age. In this essay, I would like to demonstrate several reasons for this tendency and discuss that its drawbacks outweigh its benefits. To begin with, there are some explanations for people’s avoidance of becoming parents too soon in their life. A prominent justification is that they want to be better-prepared for the family life financially. Individuals at their early stage of career may find it daunting difficult to afford a youth’s basic demands, so it is reasonable for them to wait until they have accumulated a sufficient amount of money to guarantee a fulfilled material life for their children. Another reason would be that the adults may want to enjoy their life before having a new family member. In illustration, it is easier for married couples to travel without a child to nurture. It is true that this proclivity of procrastination is advantageous to some extent. To be more specific, families living on a stable income is capable of providing their offspring with high quality education and nutritious diets. However, I hold the view that the disadvantages of this trend are more convincing. It has been scientifically proven that older parents are more likely to give birth to less healthy progeny. Those children may suffer from a number of serious diseases, ranging from rickets to autism. In the long run, this may have an adverse effect on the overall competence of the future workforce. In conclusion, it is understandable why people want to have children in their middle age, but they have to stay alert to the aforementioned significant threats.