Nowadays many students choose to study abroad at university level. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of studying abroad, and give your own opinion about whether it is a good idea.

It is true that more and more students are choosing to study at university in a foreign country. While there are certainly some drawbacks for students who make this decision, I believe that studying abroad is beneficial overall. On the one hand, there are several difficulties that overseas students may experience. Firstly, they may find it necessary to improve their language skills in order to understand lectures and complete assignments in a foreign language. For example, a British student studying in Germany may need to take extra German lessons or seek help from a native speaker when it comes to editing written work. Secondly, international students may struggle to cope with cultural differences, both socially and in terms of academic conventions. Finally, living away from family and friends can be a daunting prospect, and some students may feel lonely or homesick. On the other hand, attending a university course abroad can be extremely rewarding. The main benefit for many overseas students is the opportunity to gain a qualification from a prestigious institution in the foreign country. A degree from such an institution may improve a graduate’s job prospects, opening the door to a successful career in his or her chosen field. For example, a degree from Harvard or Oxford University is likely to impress potential employers and put graduates in a great position to secure a job in one of the world’s best companies. The other advantage of studying abroad is more personal; it can help to broaden students’ horizons, introduce them to a new network of friends, and give them new perspectives on life. In conclusion, I believe that the trend towards studying overseas is a positive one, especially if students are able to overcome the difficulties that they are likely to face.