Nowadays many people work part or full time from home. Some people say that working from home has many benefits while others disagree

Technology has revolutionised the way human beings go about their daily life. This is evident from the fact that many people nowadays work from the comfort of their homes. Some argue that this practice brings with its myriad of benefits, while others refute this. Both sides of this debate will be analysed in this essay before a reasoned conclusion is reached. On the one hand, working from home can save an employer office rental costs to a great degree. For example, Sydney, Australia is one such place where the costs of renting an office space have risen to exorbitant levels in the past few decades. As a result, a large proportion of employers’ funds have to be devoted to this area, and this encumbers their ability to earn a decent profit. When looking at the discussion in this light, the merits of working from one’s home are clearly seen. On the other hand, many contend that drawbacks of working from home outweigh its benefits. For instance, a recent British study found that majority of the people working from home had trouble meeting deadlines that were set by their organisations. This habitual lateness can lead to failure to the achievement of organisational goals. Thus, it is obvious why many people do not support the notion of working from home. After pondering upon both sides of this argument, it is felt that working from home is much more of a positive development than negative. It is thus hoped that people and organisations will continue to reap the bounties of working from home into the foreseeable future.