Nowadays, many people spend less and less time at home. What are the causes of this? What are the effects of this on individuals and on society.

Over recent years, the people of today have been spending quite less time at home. The need for social interaction and face-to-face communication stimulate individuals to go out of the home. However, this natural desire leads to personal problems such as stress and anxiety and societal problems, especially environmental ones. Human is a social animal and he or she needs interaction with others. The availability of online interaction with technological advances does not satisfy those which have realized the importance of physical interaction. Researches suggest that online interaction is not a solution in the sense of loneliness, but they also have reported that people use social network sites to make friends who can be met in person. In addition, the high level of loneliness decreases when those who suffer from it escape from the home surrounded by walls. Therefore, the duration of time spent at home is seen a decline. Lack of time spent at home comes with both personal and societal problems. Those who want to get rid of the sense of loneliness can have high-level stress and anxiety in crowded areas. Especially, noisy places may trigger anxiety in individuals. In addition, people who spend excessive time out of home exposure the higher level of pollution than those who do not and this exposure leads to health issues such as asthma, heart-related problems, and bronchitis. Moreover, the increase in the number of people spending time outside creates pollution problems because this trend leads to noise, air, and environmental pollution which result from excessive consuming. In conclusion, the people of today prefer to spend less time at home as a result of the lack of interaction. The physical desire for physical interaction is pushing people to go out of the borders of house today. Although going outside and engaged in crowded activities looks like an effective solution for the satisfaction of that desire, spending excessive time outside can likely cause stress-related problems and also environmental problems.