Some people think that video games are advantageous while others believe video games are harmful to the people who play them.

Some people believe that video games are beneficial to their users while others find these games disadvantageous. I will discuss both sides of this argument in my essay and give my personal view in the conclusion. On the one hand, video games have certain benefits. Firstly, they allow people to escape from their hectic life, and when they do not feel stressed at work, it is more likely that they will perform better. For example, students nowadays have to finish a great amount of homework, and those who relieve stress by playing games can witness a significantly better performance at school. Secondly, many video games are written in English, thanks to which people can foster their linguistic skills. In fact, we are now living in an increasingly globalized world where English becomes essential, so by playing more video games, we might be able to be fluent and more confident to communicate and integrate into the modern life. On the other hand, video games can exert negative impacts on their players, and they are harmful to the physical, intellectual, and mental development in many ways. They have been greatly discouraging face-to-face interaction among people ever since their invention, allow us to accompany a sedentary lifestyle, and put many at risk of obesity and heart diseases. For example, there have been increasing children who suffer from shortsightedness or become mentally abnormal because of video games, and these cases may outnumber those caused by other factors. Conditions which result from video games put huge pressure on individuals, their parents, and the government, leaving devastating consequences for the many generations. In conclusion, there might be some advantages people can get from video games, however, it seems to me that their negative influences are far more severe.