Nowadays, many people spend less and less time at home. What are the causes of this? What are the effects of this on individuals and on society?

Home is a place where we can chill, take a rest, and have a quality time with our family. However, nowadays, city dwellers spend most of their time outside their home. In this essay, I shall discuss some possible root causes of this phenomenon and give my perspective about how this case will have an impact on both personal and social life. To begin with, the long office hours make workers spend most of their time in the office. For example, the average workers spend a minimum of eight hours at their workplace. This number is subtracted by eight hours of sleep, which means people still have eight hours of free time daily. Unfortunately, this number has not included a total of six hours of getting trapped on the road because of the traffic jam in both directions, going to the office and going back home. So, workers only have two hours effective to spend their quality time at home with their family members. Moreover, this phenomenon can lead to several negative effects because most people need emotional support from family to neutralise their negative emotions and separate them from the stressful working environment. If it is not fulfilled, it can cause severe depression, which can have an impact on workers’ performance in the office. For example, employees who are struggling with their depression can barely work effectively to reach their targets. It is scientifically proven that people’s emotional states have a correlation with work performance and results. This kind of workers can cause an unhealthy working society and environment. In conclusion, I believe that long office hours and traffic congestion are two main root causes that make people spend less time at home. Spending less time at home means spending less time with family, which can lead to depression in the long run due to lack of necessary emotional support and connection and furthermore can create an unhealthy working environment.