"Nowadays, many people spend less and less time at home. What are the *causes* of this? What are the *effects* of this on individuals and on the society? "

Recently, a growing number of individuals have spent lesser amount of time in their houses. This essay will discuss the reasons for this occurrence, which include, the sheer need to be successful in life and the problems associated with living in an overpopulated city. And, the effect it has on the society. One of the major causes of individuals spending a little amount of time at home is the constant quest for improvement in their quality of lives. This has resulted in an over-worked and overwhelmed population of folks and, has also ensured the continued growth of productive people, especially in the urban areas of the world. Another major cause is associated with a growing number of folks in the cities being prone to traffic gridlocks. As a result, these people tend to spend a great amount of quality period in traffic jams and end up, not getting to their destinations until the wee hours of the day. For example, an average Lagosian spends about five hours in traffic. This is in addition, to the statutory eight hours spent at work. A major consequence of this in the society is the continued churning out of a sad and unfulfilled population. This stems from the fact that, people tend to devote too much valuable time to work, and earning a living, thereby, ending up being unhappy; rather than enjoying valuable moments with friends and family. Also, the repercussion of constant work on the workforce is the drastic drop in the quality of health. For instance, they are always stressed, hence, susceptible to stress-related illnesses, some of which are life-threatening. A link has been established between high blood pressure and regular stress. According to the World Health Organization, two out of ten people, who are involved in strenuous activities end up becoming hypertensive before age 40. To conclude, while it is commendable that individuals strive to become great, and influential in life. The resultant effects of the stress and strains undergone during this process, impart both the individual and the society negatively and positively. It is however recommended, that proper attention should be paid to physical and mental health of individuals to prevent crackdown in the psyches of the workforce.