Nowadays many people follow fashion trends and think that it is very important. Is it a good or a bad development?

Perhaps no subject in the world causes as much controversy as fashion does. As human march on the new millennium, there has been a significant growth to pursue fashion. Although it seems to be extremely vital, I firmly side with negative effects of the following fashion. The first point to note is that without a doubt, trendy products can broaden our knowledge about innovative breakthrough such as novel home appliances or latest cars to facilitate people's lifestyle but, the reality is the opposite. These products are contributed to showing people's status. As we are living in a competitive world, rivalry among families is on the rise and in this way families are willing to illustrate they are wealthy and up to date. Thus, that is why they have an inclination to the emphasis on fashion. Another justification to indicate downsides of being trendy is entirely wasting time and money. It should be considered that fashions are only available for a short time of a year and they will fade forever. So, spending a great amount of budget on them is completely unrealistic. Meanwhile, recently, youngsters are more likely to be fashion persuasive which might be due to peer pressure. They are not mature enough to think if these new things are lucrative or not. In addition, owing to the widespread of advertisement, people are easily cajoled by them and they are encouraged to follow the latest fashion. Therefore, the role of advertisements to create fashion as an essential part of life should be taken into consideration. As suggested above, it can conclude that benefits of being fashionable never overshadow pitfalls.