Nowadays, many people choose to be self employed rather than work for a company or organization. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantages.

Recently, most individuals preferred to be an entrepreneur rather than being a member of staff in a company. Both choices has its own merits and demerits impact, but in my opinion, i prefer to be an employee because of the huge benefits it comes with. To begin with, leaving behind a comfortable and a regular paying job for prospective entrepreneurs can be daunting. The fear of the unknown can ruin all the great ideas an individual having to start up the business. The major reason an individual opts to be self employed is because they feel they have a limited time and define life style. Sometimes the work load is not favourable and these make them spend less time with their family and friends. Also, most individual want to be independent and does not want to report to anyone. Being an entrepreneur opens an opportunity of employment for their communities. However, business security is not guaranteed and sustainability of steady income which sometimes cause an obvious threat to the business, thereby causing debts and irregular salary payment of employees. On the other hand, being an employee brigs a lot of advantages and lower risk. One is paid a regular monthly salary with additional benefits like health insurance, pension, leave allowances and sometimes official car. Some employees even have an advantage of learning more skill through the company which makes a positive impact in their career growth. In conclusion, decision making in either to be self employed or work in an organization depends on individual and both has its weaknesses which can be very challenging. In my opinion, i feel being an employee has a better advantage than being self employed because of the tremendous benefits