Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organization. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed?

In the contemporary world, it is tendency that more people choose to become a self-employed instead of working in the company or organization. In this essay, I will examine the reasons behind this phenomenon and being freelancer could be considered because of some disadvantages. On the one hand, there are many reasons why people, especially the youth, opt for working as a freelancer. First of all, due to the rapid development of online marketplaces, people have more opportunities to find projects or suitable jobs via the internet that enables them to work at home. Another reason is that being self-employed has more freedom compared to working in the company. Instead of spending the whole day in the office, freelancers have their flexible schedules and design their own plans that fit to their needs and deadlines. On the other hand, there might be risks that freelancers have to handle with. Self-employed will not probably meet their deadline if they do not have self-discipline and responsibility. Moreover, freelancer’s salary depends on the number of projects they work on, which means less stability income in daily life. Meanwhile, permanent job provides a fixed income and other benefits such as health insurance, pension, which seems to be a success in my country. In conclusion, being a self-employed is a rising trend that people tend to maximize their income, which has various advantages beside. However, people still need to consider the disadvantages before becoming a freelancer.