Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organization. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed?

In recent times, more and more people favoring to work for themselves as opposed to be employed in particular company. Despite there might be some disadvantages of being your own boss at work, I believe that some factors may be the major contributors of this trend’s popularity. On the one hand, I think there might be some reasons why many people today prefer to be self-employed. One of them would be the lack of basic necessities in working environment as not many companies can afford to fully equip the place, regarding the fact that these facilities might demand high amount of money. In addition, the majority of people often choose to work for themselves for the reason that they might not be satisfied with salary which companies offer for employees. Therefore, working as a freelancer many people find it not only convenient, but also more profitable. However, there might also be some drawbacks of being independent employer. Firstly, people by being surrounded by their friend, families or even social media often could not concentrate on their projects, which makes them less productive. Secondly, working alone would be disadvantageous for the reason that in the future, when it comes to meet his co-workers or clients, they might lack some interpersonal skills, which is often considered as a foundation of any successful organizational relationships. As a result, it would be challenging for them to socialize with other people or exchange some ideas and not enough of focus on their projects. In conclusion, although being independent worker might have some negative impacts in terms of soft skills and ability to concentrate, I think that this trend would continue being popular among people for several reasons related to job environment.