Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organization. What might be the cases? What could be the disadvantage of being self-employed?

In recent years, it has become far more common for people to be self-employed, instead of working for a corporation. From my point of view, there are various explanations for the phenomenon and working for ourselves could have certain drawbacks. Several causes have contributed to the rise of self-employment. For starters, many people choosing to work for themselves are attracted by the benefits of flexible working hours as well as freedom of creation. Which means that they don’t need to punch in and out everyday and less restrictions are imposed on their work. That’s probably the reason why self-employment is especially popular among writers, designers and artists whose jobs require creative thinking rather than rules and regulations. In addition, internet development also makes freelance available to a broader group of people. Nowadays, internet plays a vital role in connecting people who are in need of certain services with those who can satisfy their requirements. With the help of internet, people no longer need to rely on a company or organization to find their target customers and they are able to earn decent income all by themselves. No doubt that an increasing number of people start to work for themselves. Nevertheless, being self-employed also has some negative impact on individuals and the whole society. From personal perspectives, becoming self-employed means that people need to take responsibility for themselves. As for those who are not self-disciplined enough or lacking in time-management skills, being a freelancer could lead to low efficiency and anxiety. They might find they accomplish nothing and lose control of their own life. Furthermore, compared with those who working in a company, self-employed group is more likely to suffer from isolation and loneliness. On the societal level, the popularity of self-employment could pose a threat to the current tax system or the labour laws, which may cause some chaos among society. In a word, even though a growing number of people are attracted by the benefits of self-employment, it also has some negative impacts on individuals and the society.