Nowadays more and more people read news on the internet. Nevertheless, newspapers will remain and important source of news and information for the majority of people.

It is observed that a large number of people read the news on the internet. Despite this trend, it is argued that newspapers will hold their position as an important source of news and information for the majority of people. This essay disagrees with this argument because of the rapid increase in the use of internet-connected devices and the rising awareness about global warming around the world. Today, everyone uses at least one internet-connected device e. g. Smartphones, tablets, laptops, or smart TVs, etc. Most of these devices have built-in news or social media applications that keep their users up to date with any local or international developments. It has become convenient for people to remain informed at any time without incurring any monetary cost as compared to reading newspapers. According to a report published by a journalist organization, 7 out of 10 people keep themselves informed of the current affairs through online news feeds and social media, and it is anticipated that in the coming years this number will be increased further. Secondly, global warming has become a popular issue, which is discussed almost at every level. There are several factors which cause global warming, such as carbon emissions, greenhouse gasses, and other pollutions, etc. But one major factor which significantly accelerates global warming is the diminishing number of trees around the world. The timber from these trees is mostly used in paper manufacturing. Therefore, to preserve more trees, the majority of businesses and governments discourage the use of paper by using electronic channel e. g. Web portals, and PDF documents. In this regard, major newspaper publishers around the globe have also contributed to the cause. For instance, several newspapers have launched their news websites and social media pages. This step has not only reduced the cost of printing newspaper for newspaper publishers, but also allowed them to retain their readership which prefers to remain updated online. In conclusion, people have internet access as a more convenient choice to remain informed as compared to read newspapers and contributing their share in preventing global warming indirectly.