Nowadays, many people choose to be self-employed rather than to work for a company or organization. Why might this be this case? what could be the disadvantage of being self-employed.

Imagine that you are finishing your university degree in a month and attempt to seek a job in Hanoi, one of the packed cities worldwide with exorbitant costs of living. Assuming that your monthly payment would be around 10 million VND, would you afford to buy a flat or a house in that overcrowded city after a decade of dedication as a workaholic? On a second thought, your dream could become true if you risk yourself walking on your own feet by working for yourself, instead. First and foremost, it is admittedly believed that being self-employed provides you with an income boost. Obviously, the harder you work, the more money you earn. Unlike working for yourself, your monthly earned paycheck is by and large fixed and inflexible when working for a company. As a result, it is surely tough for any miracle to appear in terms of your salary, except the fact that you had made some significant contribution to the well-being of the corporation itself. On the other hand, some are opposed to self-employment arguing that your income stability might not be secured. Take the current COVID-19 pandemic as a good example, being employed during this time of austerity is seen as a savior with regard to your wage security when plenty of private businesses are on the verge of bankruptcy due to the ongoing long-lasting social distancing guideline by the Vietnamese government. A further no-less-important point in favour of being freelance is that you can benefit from the aspect of personal freedom. In other words, it’s not compulsory for you to obey the organizational dress code or punctuality as you work from home, etc. provided your job productiveness is still ensured. In addition, you can run errands in the meantime without feeling uncomfortable about being scrutinized. By contrast, you are most likely to sacrifice your social communication. That is to say, gathering and gossiping are barely in existence. As a result, you might possibly suffer from depression and autism because of being deprived of one of human being’s essential demands. In conclusion, although self-employment is favourable with relevance to someone’s freedom and living standard, it cannot be ignored the detrimental implications that it might have on the person’s income security and social interactions. A witty choice, therefore, needs to be considered.