Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organization. What might be the cases? What could be the disadvantage of being self-employed?

Nowadays, it has become a trend for the younger people to start their own businesses rather than working for someone else. The youth finds it the best possible way to utilize their talents and to make money and hence are not hesitating to risk their careers through such initiatives. This has got a lot of advantages and disadvantages which are discussed below. On the one hand, the modern education system, backed by the initiatives by the government to produce more job-creators, encourages people to become entrepreneurs. Students exposed to such an environment naturally have a mentality that being self employed is the best way to pursue their interests. Also, any good business idea is being welcomed by the private investors and governments are funded generously making self employment very attractive. Programmes such as Skill India, Start up India and angel investing are the best examples of the initiatives by the government and private parties. On the other hand, most of the people who aspire to become entrepreneurs lack the first hand experience of running a business and fail to put up a proper business plan even though they have creative business ideas. A recent study by the Oxford University states that more than fifty percent of the startups have closed down within 2 years because of mismanagement of the business. Misplaced priorities, inefficient management of the funds, improper marketing have led to such failures making the lives of people who were employed in such businesses miserable. To recapitulate, though the option of becoming an entrepreneur looks very attractive, it is very essential for the people to have worked in organizations which run similar businesses, understand the nuances of running a business and then venture into such activities. Such steps will help them run a sustainable business and achieve their goals.